901 G Street NW
https://www.dclibrary.org/thepeoplesarchive/appointments
Peoples.archive@dc.gov | 202-727-1213
The People’s Archives, formerly known as Special Collections, encompasses the Washingtoniana Collection and DC Community Archives, Black Studies, and Peabody Collection (in the Georgetown Branch) of the DC Public Library. The People’s Archive is located in the library system’s flagship location, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Library.
Columbian Newspaper Research Collection 30
Latino community in the Adams Morgan neighborhood in the 1970s
The collection consists of background research materials gathered for issues of the Columbian Newspaper. Included in the materials are correspondence, clippings, press releases, photographs, government documents, publications, reports, flyers, legal pleadings, and handwritten notes. The folders are arranged alphabetically by topic. – 7 boxes
Latino Youth Community History Oral History Project OHP005
Latino community members, 1981-1982
From 1981 and 1982, the Latin American Youth Center in Washington, D.C. conducted approximately 47 oral history interviews with Latino community members, of which 24 were donated to the Library. The project's directors were Lisa Wheaton and Lesley Rankin-Hill. The project was funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities, and all interviews were conducted by high school students. Indexes are in English and Spanish; taped interviews are in Spanish. Collection contains notes on interviews and transcripts which were not transferred to the Library at the time of donation. - 24 interviews
Beacon College Celebración de la Mujer Latina Oral History Project OHP002
Latina community members, 1980-1981
In 1981, Beacon College conducted a total of 17 oral history interviews with Latinas who had immigrated to Washington, D.C and settled in the Adams Morgan neighborhood, including Juana Campos and Casilda Luna. Topics include childhood experiences in interviewees’ country of origin, immigration to Washington D.C., family structure, work and social experiences, comparison between their country and the United States, religion, and the Hispanic community in Washington. As stated in their grant application, the project focused on the role these women played in the community and with the organization they represented. - 16 interviews
El Latino Periodicals
Issues in our Periodicals Collection. - select issues, 1977 to 2006
Tiempo Latino Periodicals
Issues in our Periodicals Collection. – 2003 -2206
Mount Pleasant Riots Oral History Project, 10 interviews
The Mount Pleasant Riot Oral History Collection contains 10 audio interviews of people who were members of the Mount Pleasant, D.C. community during the riot of 1991.
History of the First Latin American Festival on the Mall: 1989-1990, 5 interviews
This project interviewed a group of people who were present during the 1989-1990 annual D.C. Latino Festival. It documents the first time the DC Latino immigrant community was given a permit to occupy a public space so sacred to national history- the national Mall and the Monument grounds. The project asked important research questions such as: 'why did the D.C. Latino community decide to move the parade to Constitution Avenue NW and the festival to the National Mall and what impact did that have on D.C.'s Latino community.'
2130 H Street NW
https://library.gwu.edu/scrc/contact | 202-994-7549
The Special Collections Research Center at The George Washington University was founded in 1969 and includes a strong Washingtoniana collection. The SCRC is housed in the Estelle and Melvin Gelman Library on the University's Foggy Bottom campus.
George Washington University Publications collection RG0154
Series 8: Center for Washington Area Studies Collection, Box 1, Folder 7.
“Hispanic organizations of the Washington area : an annotated directory : a directory of private, secular, local Hispanic organizations based in the Washington, DC Metropolitan Area by Tia Ann Murchie-Beyma.” 1 folder.
David A. Clarke papers MS2010
Series 1, Subseries 1, Box 34, Folder 4 MS2010
“Council of Hispanic Community and Agencies.” 1 folder.
Series 1, Subseries 1, Box 42, Folder 7 MS2010
“District of Columbia Government Hispanic Employees Association.” 1 folder.
Series 1, Subseries 1, Box 66, Folder 23 MS2010
“Hispanic Theatre.” 1 folder
Series 1, Subseries 1, Box 50, Folder 7 MS2010
“El Latino – newspaper.” – 1 folder
Series 1, Subseries 1, Box: 22, Folder: 32 MS2010
“Commission on Latino Community Development.” – 1 folder
Nadine P. Winter DC City Council papers MS2188
Series 4, Subseries 1, Box 69, Folder 17 MS2188
“DC Government Hispanic Employees Association.” 1 folder
Series 2 Subseries 3, Box: 43, Folder: 17 MS2188
“Commission on Latino Community Development.” – 1 folder
Series 2 Subseries 3 Box: 48, Folder: 5 MS2188
“Mayor's Office on Latino Affairs.” – 1 folder
Series 6 Box: 116, Folder: 10 MS2188
“Upper Cardoza Advisory Neighborhood Commission.” – 1 folder
Series 6 Box: 116, Folder: 9 MS2188
“Upper Cardoza ANC.” – 1 folder
Washington D.C. published material about education and community life - MS2206
Box 5, Folder 1
“Survey of Hispanic Businesses.” – 1 folder
Walter E. Fauntroy papers, part 1 –
Series 1, Box 1, Folder 35 MS2070
“Speech, "Alliance, Participation and the Latino Community", Prismas.” – 1 folder
Walter Fauntroy Papers Part II
Box 471, Folder 1 MS2310
“Hispanic Issues.” – 1 folder
Box 471, Folder 31 MS2310
“Hispanic Health Report.” – 1 folder
Box 103, Folder 3 MS2310
“Campaign- Hispanic Targets.” – 1 folder
Grace Cavalieri papers MS2007
Series 1, Box: 18A, Reel: 324 MS2007
"Poetry from the City: M.L.K. Library; Hispanic American Poets Gloria Mercedes Anthony, Magdelena Flores, Mara Lyon reciting the poetry of Perez Gomez." – 1 folder NOTE: This collection is open for use; however some material may be copyrighted or restricted. Audio tapes from this collection may need to be digitized first before they can be used for research.
Series 1 Box: 73, Reel: 652 MS2007
“The Poet and the Poem: Hispanic poets.” – 1 folder
NOTE: This collection is open for use; however some material may be copyrighted or restricted. Audio tapes from this collection may need to be digitized first before they can be used for research
Washington Blade Lou Chibbaro senior reporter files - MS2245
Box 18, Folder 19
“Gay hispanic group enlace link.” – 1 folder
Polly Shackleton papers – MS2031
Series 2, Box 2, Folder 1
“Newspaper clippings.” – 1 folder
Frank Smith, Jr. papers MS2182
Box 4, Folder 4 MS2182
“Latino projects.” – 1 folder NOTE: These records are not fully processed and may take more time to use for research. Some material may be copyrighted or restricted.
Box 27, Folder 2 MS2182
“EOFULA/Latino list.” – 1 folder NOTE: These records are not fully processed and may take more time to use for research. Some material may be copyrighted or restricted.
Jim Graham papers MS2013
Series 1 Subseries 7, Box 11 Folder 3 MS2013
“Latino Coalition I.” – 1 folder
Series 1 Subseries 7, Box 11 Folder 4 MS2013
“Latino Coalition II.” – 1 folder
Series 1 Subseries 3, Box: 24, Folder: 11 MS2013
“Latino Operating Committee.” – 1 folder
Series 1 Subseries 3 Box: 30, Folder: 4 MS2013
“Office of Latino Affairs.” – 1 folder
“Ethnic Entrepreneurship and Latino Placemaking in Suburban Washington: The Case of Langley Park, Maryland,” by Alexander Rupp Stewart, (2011).
NOTE: Available digitally through GW ScholarSpace.
“Experiences of Mexican Immigrant Women Living in the Washington D.C. Metropolitan Area,” by Claudia Williams, (2012).
NOTE: Available digitally through GW ScholarSpace.
“Acéptame,” by Andrea Garcia, (2019).
NOTE: Available digitally through GW ScholarSpace.
“U.S.-Born Salvadoran American Women with Learning Disabilities in Transition to Adulthood,” by Deanna Marie Ortiz, (2010).
NOTE: Available digitally through GW ScholarSpace.
“Patchwork House: A Neighborhood Gathering,” by Tatiana A. Dumcheva, (2015).
NOTE: Available digitally through GW ScholarSpace.
“Community Health Care Service Awareness and Use Among the Washington Metropolitan Area Latino Population,” by Lindsey Lee Withers, (2009). NOTE: Available digitally through GW ScholarSpace.
“The Rescaling of US Immigration Policy: A Socio-spatial Analysis of Enforcement in Herndon, Virginia,” by Nicole Prchal Svajlenka, (2010)
“Trauma and Stress Among Central American Immigrants Living in Langley Park, Maryland,” by Leonardo Flores Andrande Jorge Benavides, Mark Edberg, and Rosalie Mattiola, (2018).
“United By Music: Latino Musicians in the D.M.V.,” by Daniel Martinez Gonzalez, (2017).
1111 Columbia Rd NW
holacultura@gmail.com
Hola Cultura is a nonprofit organization in Washington, DC that chronicles local Latino culture.
“D.C. Latino history tapes now online,” by Patrick Scallen (March 2016)
“D.C.’s Native Languages + Cultures,“ by Pavithra Suresh.
Highlights from our oral history project celebrating the diverse native languages spoken in Latin American—and the Washington, D.C., area.
D.C. Latino History Archives, by HOLA Cultura.
Interviews with D.C. residents and learn more about the city’s Latino history. Maps illustrating how D.C. is changing and how these changes are affecting the Latino community. Readings on how the role housing costs have played in determining where Latinos live in D.C.
“Muralism DC,” by HOLA Cultura (November 2014)
Muralism DC / Muralismo DC is a short “webumentary” (15 min) on Washington D.C.’s rich Latino mural making tradition. The program documents murals on the streets of the nation’s capital and chronicles the history of Latino mural making in interviews with the artists and other experts.
https://www.
https://www.facebook.com/josegutierrezarchives/
josegutierrezdc@aol.com | 202-705-2701
Extensive, privately held collection created and collected by community member Jose Gutierrez to preserve the history of the DC Latinx LGBTQ community. Materials include photographs, posters, ephemera. Access to materials can be granted upon request.
901 Fort Pl SE
https://anacostia.si.edu/collection/
(202) 633-4820
Founded as the Anacostia Neighborhood Museum in 1967, the Anacostia Community Museum was initially envisioned as an outreach effort by the Smithsonian to the local African American community. As the mission evolved, the museum’s exhibitions and public programs have explored the impact of historical and contemporary social issues on urban communities, always based on direct collaboration with communities and often with a DC-specific focus or significant component.
Black Mosaic: Community, Race, and Ethnicity among Black Immigrants in Washington, D. C. exhibition records, Anacostia Community Museum Archives, Smithsonian Institution
(1994-1995) ACMA.03-027
Exhibit curated by the Anacostia Community Museum's supervisory curator Portia James. The exhibition explored the immigration of people of African descent from South America, Central America, and the Caribbean to the Washington Metropolitan Area. Records include administrative records, publications, research files, floor plans, exhibit text drafts, oral history transcripts, and project files. 21.6 Cubic feet (17 cartons, 2 oversized boxes.)
Gateways/Portales exhibition records, Anacostia Community Museum Archives, Smithsonian Institution
(1954-2017) ACMA.03-102
Records of the exhibition presented by the Anacostia Community Museum (2016-2018, with an extension at the Carlos Rosario International Public Charter School in 2019) and curated by Ariana A. Curtis. Focused on four urban areas in the United States: Washington, DC, Baltimore, MD, Raleigh-Durham, NC, and Charlotte, NC. Materials include research files, subject files, scholarly articles, artist files, exhibit texts, object lists, and audio and video digital files from oral history interviews conducted in conjunction with the exhibition. Collection is in English and Spanish, with some material in French. 2.84 Linear feet (3 boxes)
A Right to the City exhibition records, Anacostia Community Museum Archives, Smithsonian Institution
(2016-2018) ACMA.03-119
Records of the exhibition presented by the Anacostia Community Museum and curated by Samir Meghelli. Exhibition explored the history of neighborhood change and civic activism in the nation's capital and specifically in Adams Morgan, Anacostia, Brookland, Chinatown, Shaw and Southwest. Relevant records include oral history interviews conducted 2016-2018, including with Arturo Griffiths and Juan Picado.
600 Maryland Ave SW
https://learninglab.si.edu/profile/latinocenter
https://latino.si.edu/latino-center
www.latino.si.edu
The Smithsonian Latino Center preserves a growing collection of diverse stories and experiences that reflect Latino presence in the nation’s history and culture, and convenes conversations, inclusively, about the stories and connections that continue to inspire generations to come. The Latino DC History Project is an initiative of the Latino Center to research and exhibit the history of Latinos in Washington and its suburbs. In 2022, the Smithsonian Latino Center will open the Molina Family Latino Gallery at the National American History Museum, making the gallery the very first dedicated museum space on the National Mall celebrating the U.S. Latino experience.
“Art for Social Change: Conversations on Protest and Police Brutality,” by Smithsonian Latino Center learning lab. (Spanish version). Summary and timeline of the 1991 Mount Pleasants uprisings.
“Remembering the 1991 Disturbances in Mt. Pleasant,” by Smithsonian Latino Center, (May 2011).
The panelists and audience reflected how the 1991 events affected Mt. Pleasant and surrounding neighborhoods and the organization of the local Latino community. Panelists included Sharon Pratt, mayor of Washington from 1991 to 1995; former chief of police Isaac Fulwood; Smithsonian curator and Mt. Pleasant resident Olivia Cadaval; former head of the Latino Civil Rights Task Force and local resident Pedro Avilés; local poet, activist and Mt. Pleasant resident Marcos Del Fuego; former publisher of La Nación newspaper José Sueiro.
Hornbake Library North
University of Maryland at College Park
College Park, Md.
https://www.lib.umd.edu/special
AskHornbake@UMD.edu
Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA) at the University of Maryland Libraries supports the educational and research mission of the University. Collections are open to the general public.
University of Maryland Posters and Broadsides collection - 0157-UA
Latino/a/x student groups at UMD, College Park
Posters and broadsides collected from various academic programs, administrative offices, and student groups (1926-present). - 36 linear feet in total NOTE: Open to the public for use in the reading room
Graciela Nemes papers - 0202-UA
Latin American writers
Books, poems, papers, and other materials from Nemes, a UMD professor who helped shape the current study of Spanish and Latin American literature. - 31.75 linear feet NOTE: Open to the public for use in the reading room.
University Publications collection - 0480-UA
Latino/a/x student groups at UMD, College Park
Publications related to current and historical UMD student organizations: Coalition of Latinx Student Organizations (CLSO); PLUMAS (Political Latinxs United for Movement and Action in Society); Latino Student Union; Latino Honors Caucus; Latino Business Society; Association of Latino Professionals for America; Latinos United in Christ; La Voz Latina; Lambda Upsilon Lamba (La Unidad Latina) (Phi Chapter); Latina/o Graduate Student Association; Hispanic Student Union; Hispanic Heritage Coalition. - 125 linear feet in total
NOTE: Open to the public for use in the reading room.
William Emory papers - 0081-MDHC
Mexico and Mexican community
Correspondence of William Emory, a white Marylander who served in the Mexican–American War and describes the perspectives toward Mexico and Mexicans in the DC-Maryland area circa late-1800s. - 1.5 linear feet NOTE: Open to the public for use in the reading room.
Suburban Maryland Fair Housing (SMFH), Inc. records - 0238-MDHC
Fair housing organization in Montgomery County, MD
Records from a non-profit organization addressing racism in Maryland housing practices and promoting fair and affordable housing; Includes reports (circa 1970s) on Latino/x communities. - 21.5 linear feet
NOTE: Open to the public for use in the reading room.
Children's Television Workshop records - 0073-MMC-NPBA
Children's Television Workshop (Sesame Workshop)
Children's Television Workshop, now Sesame Workshop, received funding from the federal government to research and develop television programming for children. Includes some materials related to Latin communities and children's broadcasting. - 456 linear feet
NOTE: Open to the public for use in the reading room.
National Federation of Community Broadcasters (NFCB) records - 0178-MMC-NPBA
Member stations of the National Federation of Community Broadcasters
Includes paper materials and audio content related to member stations, including some broadcasts on Latin American communities and histories. - 94 linear feet in total
NOTE: Open to the public for use in the reading room.
Action Langley Park records – no object ID assigned yet
Community of Langley Park and non-profit group Action Langley Park
A more recent accession; Document community-led efforts and immigrant owned small businesses. - not available yet.
NOTE: Unprocessed; available for research but must be screened by staff first.
Latinos in the Washington Metro area - F205.S75 L38 2014
Latinx communities in DC area
From the Images of America series (2014); photographs and descriptions. – book
NOTE: Open to the public for use in the reading room.
Hispanics in the Washington region: findings from the 1990 census and a 1994 update - F205.S75 H57 1997
Latinx communities in DC area
From Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (1997). – published folio
NOTE: Open to the public for use in the reading room.
The Latino student resource book: 2001-2002 - UPUB M42.001
Latinx communities at UMD
University publication from UMD Office of Multi-ethnic Student Education (2001). – book
https://udc.libguides.com/
Chris Anglim, canglim@udc.edu | 202-274-5843
The focus of UDC archives is to collect, preserve, provide access to, and interpret archival records documenting the history of the University of the District of Columbia. Resources available upon request.