The first iteration of this guide was the result of a 16-week independent research project developed by Mariana C. Barros-Titus, an undergraduate student at the University of the District of Columbia (UDC), to meet a research services challenge faced by the DC History Center’s Kiplinger Research Library. Published in May 2021, A Guide to Selected Research Materials Relating to the Latino/a/x Communities in Washington, DC, was a standalone PDF made available through the DC History Center's website. In addition to specific compiled resources, the PDF includes an essay by Mariana and thoughts on next steps for the DC History Center's engagement with the Latino/a/x community. The PDF will not be updated. This Libguide, created by UDC student Kelssi Aguilar and based on the PDF, will be periodically updated with additional resources.
La primera versión de esta guía fue el resultado de un proyecto de investigación independiente de 16 semanas desarrollado por Mariana C. Barros-Titus, un estudiante de pregrado en la Universidad del Distrito de Columbia (UDC), para enfrentar un desafío de servicios de investigación que enfrenta el DC History Center Kiplinger Research Library. Publicada en Mayo de 2021, Una Guía de Materiales de Investigación Seleccionados Relacionados con las Comunidades Latinas / a / x en Washington, DC, era un PDF independiente disponible a través del sitio web del DC History Center. Además de los recursos recopilados específicos, el PDF incluye un ensayo de Mariana y pensamientos sobre los próximos pasos para el compromiso del DC History Center con la comunidad latina/o/x. Este Libguide, creado por el estudiante de UDC Kelssi Aguilar y basado en el PDF, se actualizará periódicamente con recursos adicionales.
The challenge: Where can a researcher currently find records and collections that reflect DC’s vibrant and diverse Latino/a/x community? How can we encourage new research and amplify their stories? While we have published related new research in our magazine, Washington History, we know our library holdings are slim. So where could we direct interested researchers to find additional materials?
In July 2020, the DC History Center made a series of public collections commitments as we continue to examine how the organization, founded in 1894, has contributed over time to injustices that Black Americans and other people of color face every day. We have found that we need to change how we collect, describe, and provide access to the materials we hold in trust for the public. Ideally, we ask a series of questions to guide our decisions regarding potential donations of historical material. What are the circumstances surrounding the creation and maintenance of the materials? Are we the right organization to take charge? Who are the other players? If we decide to not collect, or to do so selectively, then: Will the story’s absence be a gap in our collection that will be seen as an indictment of the value of the story—that our institution felt the story wasn’t worth collecting? Or will that gap be identified as purposeful, a decision made to avoid additional harm? Regardless of intent, the default to collect without thoughtful community engagement results in extractive practice which perpetuates harm.
In that spirit, this project was consciously designed as an information-gathering exercise, rather than a collecting initiative. In an endeavor to practice ethically, we aim to better understand the landscape of collections in the area and the needs of the local Latino/a/x community rather than presume it is our responsibility to collect materials. The resulting guide is for researchers interested in DC history. By identifying available resources, there is an opportunity to provide historical context and better understand the contributions of local Latinos, as well as the challenges they face.
Latinos comprise nearly 12% of DC’s population, but truth be told, there is no monolithic Latino/a/x identity. For the Washingtonians who moved here from El Salvador, Mexico, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Honduras, Colombia, Nicaragua, Mexico, the Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Panama, their nationalities and their class and race differences, not to mention their varying reasons for leaving behind their homeland, are often stronger markers of identity than commonalities of language. In addition, while Mount Pleasant, Adams Morgan and Columbia Heights have long been strongly identified with Spanish-speaking immigrants, gentrification has changed the landscape, pushing many outside the District’s borders into Maryland and Virginia.
El desafío: ¿Dónde puede un investigador encontrar registros y colecciones que reflejan la vibrante y diversa comunidad latina/a/x de DC? ¿Cómo podemos fomentar nuevas investigaciones y ampliar sus historias? Si bien hemos publicado nuevas investigaciones relacionadas en nuestra revista Washington History, sabemos que las existencias de nuestras bibliotecas son escasas. Entonces, ¿a dónde podríamos dirigir a los investigadores interesados para que encuentren materiales adicionales?
En Julio de 2020, el DC History Center asumió una serie de compromisos de colecciones públicas a medida que continuamos examinando cómo la organización, fundada en 1894, ha contribuido a lo largo del tiempo a las injusticias que los Estadounidenses Negros y otras personas de color enfrentan todos los días. Hemos descubierto que necesitamos cambiar la forma en que recopilamos, describimos y proporcionamos acceso a los materiales que mantenemos en fideicomiso para el público. Idealmente, hacemos una serie de preguntas para orientar nuestras decisiones con respecto a posibles donaciones de material histórico. ¿Cuáles son las circunstancias que rodean la creación y mantenimiento de los materiales? ¿Somos la organización adecuada para hacernos cargo? ¿Quiénes son los otros jugadores? Si decidimos no recopilar, o hacerlo de manera selectiva, entonces: ¿La ausencia de la historia será un vacío en nuestra colección que se verá como una acusación del valor de la historia? Que nuestra institución sintió que no valía la pena recopilar la historia. ¿O esa brecha se identificará como intencionada, una decisión que se tomará para evitar daños adicionales? Independientemente de la intención, el valor predeterminado de recolectar sin una participación reflexiva de la comunidad da como resultado una práctica de extracción que perpetúa el daño.
Con eso en mente, este proyecto se diseñó conscientemente como un ejercicio de recopilación de información, más que como una iniciativa de recopilación. En un esfuerzo por practicar éticamente, nuestro objetivo es comprender mejor el panorama de las colecciones en el área y las necesidades de la comunidad latina/o/x local en lugar de suponer que es nuestra responsabilidad recolectar materiales. La guía resultante es para investigadores interesados en la historia de DC. Al identificar los recursos disponibles, existe la oportunidad de proporcionar un contexto histórico y comprender mejor las contribuciones de los latinos locales, así como los desafíos que enfrentan.
Los latinos comprenden casi el 12% de la población de DC, pero la verdad es que no existe una identidad latina monolítica. Para los habitantes de Washington que se mudaron aquí desde El Salvador, México, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Honduras, Colombia, Nicaragua, República Dominicana, Jamaica, Panamá, sus nacionalidades y sus diferencias de clase y raza, sin mencionar sus diversas razones. por dejar atrás su tierra natal, a menudo son marcadores de identidad más fuertes que los rasgos comunes del lenguaje. Además, mientras que Mount Pleasant, Adams Morgan y Columbia Heights se han identificado durante mucho tiempo con los inmigrantes hispanohablantes, la gentrificación ha cambiado el panorama, empujando a muchos fuera de las fronteras del Distrito hacia Maryland y Virginia.
This resource guide uses the term Latino/a/x to encompass the male/female pronouns (o/a) found in the Spanish language, and to be inclusive of identities outside binary gender parameters (x). While Latinx is considered more inclusive for some, others do not use the term to identify themselves. As a rule, this guide respects and follows the language used by collections descriptions and individuals who self-identify using a particular term such as Hispanic, Latino, Latina, Latine, Latinx or any combination therein.
In addition, it’s important to note that this guide is focused specifically on Latino/a/x populations in the city of Washington. Often, terms like Hispanic, Latino, and Latin American are used interchangeably. However, these terms are not interchangeable. It is worth taking the time to dispel the differences. Hispanic populations encapsulate Spanish speaking populations, so this includes Latin American populations in South and Central America, the Caribbean, and Spain.
Latin American populations have roots in South and Central America and the Caribbean. For the purposes of this guide, this would also include non-Spanish speaking nations such as Brazil, and Haiti. Latino/a/x populations are specifically rooted in the United States and descend from Latin America. While the first phase of this exercise only captured collections from Hispanic Latino communities in Washington, it is the hope that as the project expands, it can capture historical resources from other non-Hispanic Latino populations as well as Latin American communities that are rooted in Washington, DC.
The Latino/a/x population in Washington, DC is distinguishable from other US Latino concentrations in that it is incredibly diverse, both in terms of national-origin and socio-economic status. While a large portion of Latino community members stem from El Salvador, increasingly, there are Latino migrants from other nationalities moving into the area. The diversity present in Latino populations also applies to education levels and socio-economic status. While using Latino/a/x as a starting point to group populations with some shared experiences and cultures, the guide intentionally avoids claiming monoletheism within that Latino/a/x experience.
Esta guía de recursos utiliza el término Latino/a/x para abarcar los pronombres masculinos / femeninos (o/a) que se encuentran en el idioma español y para incluir identidades fuera de los parámetros binarios de género (x). Aunque Latinx se considera más inclusivo para algunos, otros no usan el término para identificarse. Como regla general, esta guía respeta y sigue el lenguaje utilizado por las descripciones de las colecciones y las personas que se identifican a sí mismas utilizando un término en particular, como Hispano, Latino, Latina, Latine, Latinx o cualquier combinación de los mismos.
Además, es importante tener en cuenta que esta guía se centra específicamente en las poblaciones latinas/a/x en la ciudad de Washington. Muchas veces, términos como Hispano, Latino y Latinoamericano se usan indistintamente. Sin embargo, estos términos no son intercambiables. Vale la pena tomarse el tiempo para disipar las diferencias. Las poblaciones Hispanas engloban a las comunidades Hispanas, entonces esto incluye a las poblaciones latinoamericanas en América del Sur y Central, el Caribe y España.
Las poblaciones Latinoamericanas tienen raíces en América del Sur, Central y el Caribe. Para los propósitos de esta guía, esto también incluiría naciones que no hablan español como Brasil y Haití. Las poblaciones latinas/a/x están específicamente arraigadas en los Estados Unidos y descienden de América Latina. Mientras la primera fase de este ejercicio solo capturó colecciones de comunidades Hispanas Latinas en Washington, se espera que a medida que el proyecto se expanda, pueda captar recursos históricos de otras poblaciones Latinas no Hispanas, así como de comunidades Latinoamericanas arraigadas en Washington. , DC.
La población latina/a/x en Washington, DC se distingue de otras concentraciones latinas de EE. UU. En que es increíblemente diversa, tanto en términos de origen nacional como de estatus socioeconómico. Si bien una gran parte de los miembros de la comunidad latina proviene de El Salvador, cada vez hay más migrantes latinos de otras nacionalidades que se mudan al área. La diversidad presente en las poblaciones latinas también se aplica a los niveles educativos y al estatus socioeconómico. Mientras usa Latino/a/x como punto de partida para agrupar poblaciones con algunas experiencias y culturas compartidas, la guía evita intencionalmente reclamar el monoteísmo dentro de esa experiencia Latino/a/x.
Convened by the DC History Center and led by Latinx Outreach Fellow Mariana C. Barros-Titus, the 2021-2022 working group membership comprised Jose Centeno-Melendez, Jose Gutierrez, Rosalyn Lake, Kristy Li Puma, Sami Miranda, and Manuel Mendez. The working group brings their extensive knowledge of the local Latino/a/x community as well as their professional expertise as historians, artists, researchers, teachers, and activists. Initially charged with crafting a public engagement program for Spring/Summer 2022, in July 2022 the group submitted a white paper of observations and recommendations to the DC History Center to inform ongoing engagement with DC's Latino/a/x community.
Stemming from these recommendations, in 2022 the DC History Center formed the permanent Latino/a/x Advisory Group, with an open call for applications. The 2022-2023 LAG membership, each serving a one-year term, includes Jose Centeno-Melendez, Jose Gutierrez, Rosalyn Lake, Kristy Li Puma, Manuel Mendez, Letitia Gomez, Daniel del Pielago, Armonte Butler, Delia Beristain Noriega, and Miguel Castro Luna.
Este grupo fue convocado en el DC History Center, y es guiado por nuestra Latinx Outreach Fellow, Mariana C. Barros-Titus. La membresía del grupo de trabajo (2021-2022) está compuesta por: José Centeno-Meléndez, José Gutiérrez, Rosalyn Lake, Kristy Lipuma, Sami Miranda y Manuel Méndez. Juntos, el grupo de trabajo aportan su amplio conocimiento de la comunidad Latinx local, así como su experiencia profesional como historiadores, artistas, maestros y activistas; y están encargados de elaborar un programa público para la primavera del 2022.
A partir de estas recomendaciones, en el 2022 el DC History Center formó un grupo asesor y permanente, el Latino/a/x Advisory Group, con una llamada convocatoria para solicitudes. Los miembros del LAG 2022-2023, cada uno con un mandato de un año, incluyen a Jose Centeno-Melendez, Jose Gutierrez, Rosalyn Lake, Kristy Li Puma, Manuel Mendez, Letitia Gomez, Daniel del Pielago, Armonte Butler, Delia Beristain Noriega y Miguel Castro Luna.
Where can a researcher currently find records and collections that reflect DC’s vibrant and diverse Latino/a/x community? How can we encourage new research and amplify their stories? Help us keep the DC History Center's guide up-to-date. Resources and edits can be submitted using this simple Google form. We appreciate your efforts and contributions!
¿Dónde puede un investigador encontrar registros y colecciones que reflejan la vibrante y diversa comunidad latina/a/x de DC? ¿Cómo podemos fomentar nuevas investigaciones y ampliar sus historias? Ayúdenos a mantener actualizada la guía del Centro de Historia de DC. Los recursos y las ediciones se pueden enviar mediante este sencillo formulario de Google. ¡Apreciamos tu sus y contribuciones!
