LibGuides: Teaching DC Statehood: Primary Sources on DC Statehood

Archival Resources at the DC History Center

D.C. Statehood Party records, 1970-1986
Call Number: MS 0816
This collection documents the day-to-day business of the D.C. Statehood Party from 1970-1986. The records contain campaign posters, as well as financial documents, by-laws, campaign materials, and files of two of the party's founders; Hilda Mason and Josephine (Jo) Butler. Also included are some of the party's campaign posters.
DC Home Rule Research collection, 1870 - 1987
Call Number: MS 0320
This collection contains clippings, government documents, bibliographic notes, and other materials related to DC home rule issues, DC representation in the U.S. House of Congress, and DC voting rights. The collection includes information about individuals such as Walter Fauntroy and Marion Barry, issues such as racial tension and racial balance in DC, documents on Federal legislation related to organization and reorganization of DC government, and Federal Government documents related to controlling civil disturbances.
District of Columbia Federation of Women's Clubs records, 1897-1990 (bulk 1897-1976)
Call Number: MS 0350
Histories, constitutions, and bylaws; minutes and correspondence; treasurer's books and financial accounts (1928-1990); annual reports and programs (1920-1976); yearbooks, directories, and lists (1908-1976); photographs; and scrapbook ([195-]). Includes material relating to work for reform in working conditions for women, civil service practices, education, and child labor laws; lobbying against home rule in D.C.; and promoting literature and the arts.
Evening Star Twenty-Third Amendment Campaign Scrapbook
Call Number: MS 0797
Mary Grace (M. G.) Bassett, journalist and lawyer, wrote for The Washington Post, The Evening Star, and King Features Syndicate in Washington, D.C., from 1952 to 1976. This scrapbook traces the campaign for the passage of the 23rd Amendment by the Evening Star; most of the articles written as part of the campaign appear under a Bassett byline.
Home Rule and Representation ephemera, 1917-2008
Call Number: E 1304
Brochures, posters, postcards, pamphlets and other ephemera relating to DC Home Rule.
Jesse C. Suter and Theodore W. Noyes papers, 1877-1961
Call Number: MS 0260
Personal papers and correspondence of Washington, D.C., journalists and civic leaders Jesse C. Suter and Theodore W. Noyes documenting their interests in the city’s civic affairs. Topics include fiscal reform, home rule, national representation, public schools, suffrage, and temperance. Includes newspaper clippings, journals, memorabilia, scrapbooks, and Suter’s collection of items related to Abraham Lincoln. Correspondents include the Capital Transit Company, the Federation of Citizens Associations of the District of Columbia, the United Dry Forces of America, and the Voteless D.C. League of Women Voters.
Organic Acts of the District of Columbia by U.S. Government Printing Office
Call Number: P 1549
Publication Date: 1913
10 Things You Can Do to Help Bring Democracy to D.C. by Mark David Richards
Call Number: P 2861
Publication Date: 2001
2 page pamphlet
League of Women Voters of the District of Columbia ephemera, 1970 - 1982
Call Number: E 1670
Booklet, "D. C. Last Colony: Self-Government for the District of Columbia," Mar 1970; Petition, D. C. Petition Drive, 3 pp., Jan & Apr 1970; Petition, National Petition Drive, 2pp., Apr 1970; Brochure, "Some Questions for Citizens to Ask Candidates," 1 Jul 1974; Brochure (2), "Questions and Answers on Full Voting Representation in Congress for the District of Columbia," Mar 1977; Brochure, "Full Voting Representation in the Senate for the District of Columbia," Apr 1977; Brochure, "Methods of Achieving National Representation in the U. S. Congress," Apr 1977; Brochure, "Facts for Citizens," 1982

Primary Source Materials at other institutions

The People's Archives, DC Public Library

D.C. Statehood Movement Leaders Oral History Project, 1997-1999
ID: OHP020

Between 1997 and 1999 the DC Public Library and Councilmember Hilda Mason's office jointly sponsored a program to conduct oral histories of D.C. Statehood movement leaders. The project was funded by a grant from the D.C. Humanities Council and it documents the experiences of 10 important Statehood movement leaders: Lou Aronica, Charles Mason, Hilda Mason, Chauncey Thomas, Sandra Thomas, Edward Guinan, Sam Smith, Deborah Hanrahan, Chuck Stone, Tina Hobson. The interviews cover such topics as memories of activist Julius Hobson, the early founding of the Statehood Party, local politics and referendums, constitutional convention, and the defeat of the statehood legislation.

Statehood Related Collections: John Capozzi Collection, District of Columbia Statehood Commission Records, Julius Hobson Papers, League of Women Voters of the District of Columbia Records, Self-Determination for D.C. (SDDC) Collection

Digital Collections: D.C. Last Colony: Voting Rights and Home

Special Collections Research Center, The George Washington University

Home Rule and Statehood related collections: Washington, DC Statehood Constitutional Convention records, Citizens for New Columbia collection, Mark Plotkin Papers, Stewart B. McKinney, District of Columbia papers, Gilbert Gude papers, Walter E. Fauntroy papers, part 1, Greater Washington Board of Trade records , Greater Washington Board of Trade records, Polly Shackleton papers, John B. Duncan papers, Peter S. Craig papers, Jewish Community Council of Greater Washington records