LibGuides: Kiplinger Research Library: Request Digital Reproductions and Permission to Publish

The Kiplinger Research Library provides and licenses digital reproductions of materials in the collections upon request. Scans and high-resolution digital reproduction of collection material are available at a fee. Permission fees are charged per image, per format, and are separate from digital reproduction charges.

The provision of a digital reproduction does not convey permission to publish the image; express permission must be requested and granted prior to publication.

Some materials in our collection cannot be scanned, reproduced digitally, or licensed because of their size, fragility, location, or copyright status. This is assessed on a case-by-case basis.

A 10% discount on research services is provided to members. You can learn more about our membership benefits here.

Request Digital Reproductions and Permission to Publish

To request digital reproductions and/or permission to publish, email library@dchistory.org with the following information:

a completed Request for Digital Reproductions and Permission to Publish form attached to the email
Include your full name as part of the file name for this document

Your request will be added to our digital reproduction queue and will be processed in the order of receipt. We are usually able to fulfill requests within 10 business days. During period of high demand, this may take longer. To request a faster turn-around time - you can add a "rush fee' to your order - this is dependent on availability.

When your order is ready - you will receive an invoice payable online. Your files will be digitally transferred to you after payment is received.

Request for Digital Reproductions and Permission to Publish
This form accommodates three requests, each with its own associated fees: scan orders, digital reproduction requests and permission to publish (i.e. use)
Additional Items - Request for Digital Reproductions and Permission to Publish
If your requests includes more than 4 items from our collection, use this form to add them to your request. This form accommodates up to 12 additional item requests
Use Permission Fee Schedule
Outlines costs associated with different types of use permission requests

About Digital Reproductions

Some materials in our collection cannot be scanned or reproduced digitally because of their size, fragility, location, or copyright status. The DC History Center does not provide printed reproductions.

SCANS

A $10 service fee for each order. The fee is includes up to 10 pages, there is an additional $1 fee per additional page requested
Delivered as .PDF or .JPG files
This option is not available for photographs, most oversized documents or ‘fragile’ documents – please select "scan" request for these items

DIGITAL REPRODUCTIONS

A single scan costs $25
All scans are provided as high-resolution TIFF files.
This option must be used for photographs, most oversized or ‘fragile’ documents
Suitable for most needs, from publication and enlargements, to web and presentation use

About Use Permissions

Permission fees are charged per image, per format, and are separate from image reproduction charges. Permission is for one-time use; releases and new editions require a new permission request. Please note, there is a flat $10 service fee for each permission order for photographs in the Public Domain. Review the fee schedule.

Permission must be sought in order to determine if –

the DC History Center owns the copyright and can therefore grant use and collect licensing fees
as far as the History Center has determined the image is in the public domain and therefore not subject to collection of additional licensing fees
the researcher needs to seek permission from another source

In some cases, we do not know the source of an item in our collection - ultimately, full rights assessment is the researcher’s responsibility.

Copyright Clearance Resources

Copyright clearance is rarely straightforward - full copyright assessment is the researcher’s responsibility. Below are two resources we have found helpful when considering "use" of collection materials.