LibGuides: Researching Places of Worship: Online Resources Maintained by Individual Locations or Organizations

This is an ever-growing list of online resources related to specific local places of worship and their related entities, such as cemeteries or archives. To help direct research, the links below go directly to archives-related resources rather than a general website for the organization. For additional leads, please visit the Library of Congress's guide to Religion Collections in Libraries and Archives: Maryland, Virginia and the District of Columbia.

While this list is currently listed in alphabetical order, as the list grows, we will offer ways to explore by neighborhood, denomination, etc. Please send recommendations of resource sites to the Kiplinger Research Library so that this guide can be more useful to researchers!

Archives of The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Washington
The Archives of The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Washington is the official institutional repository of Archdiocesan records. These include the papers of the Archbishops of Washington, the records of the offices of the Archdiocese, the history of its parishes, and historical documents and objects. The records in the Archives date primarily from the 1930s forward but there are some significant items that date back to the eighteen and nineteenth centuries.
Catholic Cemeteries of the Archdiocese of Washington, Inc.,
Burial records are maintained by the specific cemetery. Site includes links to cemeteries under this jurisdiction.
Mt. Zion / Female Union Band Historic Memorial Park, Inc. (Foundation)
Includes published histories, Cemetery Information System database, burial records, cemetery surveys, and more resources related to the Mt. Zion and Female Union Band Society Cemeteries in Georgetown.
National Presbyterian Church Archives
The Ervin N. Chapman Memorial Archives contain an extensive collection of historical records, documents, photographs et al., dating back to the 1795 inception of the church. Arrangements can be made for study of the materials. Some items available for viewing include: historic and current church records; baptismal, marriage and funeral records; and session minutes.
Truxton Is In Shaw (The InShaw Blog)
Marie Maxwell explores the National Capital Planning Commission's 1957 Church Survey Northwest Urban Renewal Area, which included Shaw, Downtown, and parts of NE DC. Includes data on 103 churches.
Washington National Cathedral Archives
The collection includes: historical records of the building of the Cathedral and the establishment of the Cathedral Foundation; service registers and leaflets; news clippings from 1894 to the present; records of iconography and furnishings; architectural and construction records; a complete collection of the quarterly magazine, Cathedral Age, beginning in 1925; information about Cathedral artists; photographs of national events occurring at the Cathedral; multimedia materials (DVDs, CDs, videos).