Researching LGBTQ DC

This collection contains correspondence, reports, articles, videocassettes, memos, meeting minutes, photographs, financial records, press releases, and early organizational records. These materials together relate the work of the AIDS Action organization both the Foundation and the Council.

This collection contains photographs, correspondence, announcements, flyers, race results, membership records, and financial records documenting the D.C. Front Runners organization between 1981 and 2003. The D.C. Front Runners in a running, walking, and social club for Washington, D.C.'s LGBT community. It was founded in 1981 and is one of dozens of Front Runners clubs in the United States and abroad.

The collection documents on the establishment and the work of the Gay and Lesbian Education Fund located in Washington, D.C. (GALEF). Originally established in 1980 as the Gay Activist Alliance Education Fund (GAAEF), the goals set forth by the organization was to help educate the general public, specifically the straight community, about gays and lesbians by sponsoring and supporting events and Programs.

This collection contains financial records, marketing material, recordings, photographs, meeting minutes, fundraising records, and production records that document the work of the Gay Men's Chorus of Washington DC. The Gay Men's Chorus of Washington, DC is one of the area's most highly respected arts and community service organizations. Its mission is to “entertain through excellent musical performance, to affirm the place of Gay people in society, and to educate about the Gay experience.”

GW Pride was a student group that formed in 1971 to break "the stereotypical image of gaylife." The collection includes banners and posters, meeting minutes and notes, flyers and advertisements for GW Pride events, newspaper articles about events and gay-related issues, revisions of the constitution, documents and memoranda pertaining to the change in the University’s non-discrimination policy.

Records include personal files of Jim Graham, constitution and by-laws for Whitman-Walker Clinic, correspondence, financial records, photographs, videocassettes, audio cassette tapes, executive meeting minutes, annual reports and other publications of the Whitman-Walker Clinic, publications and materials of other AIDS-related organizations, scrapbooks, newspaper articles, brochures, conference publications, property information, posters, and buttons related to Whitman-Walker events.

This collection consists of photographs both black and white and color used in the exhibit Queerly Visible, 1971-1991: These images relate to the gay and lesbian community in Washington, D.C. and throughout the United States.

A guide to LGBTQ books and archival collections at the Special Collections Research Center

The collection contains correspondence, research notes, articles, pamphlets, periodicals, news clippings, audio cassette tapes, banners, tee shirts, books, buttons (informational artifacts) and photographs. It includes organizational and personal staff information about the Off Our Backs collective, a feminist journal; activities, informational, and promotional material for social and civic activist groups including Women's Liberation Zap Action Brigade, “ZAP," the American University's Women's Union, women's health, health clinics and various feminist conferences; memorabilia from the National Committee to Free Sharon Kowalski, interviews and lectures of feminist writers, and a variety of feminist and lesbian publications.

The collection contains videos, production files, general business files, personal and business correspondence, scripts, photographs, slides, and negatives. The collection documents the work of the late artist Jamie Walters.

The Washington Area Women’s Center served both as a space where women could explore aspects of feminism and work on projects dedicated to furthering feminist theory and also practical work to serve as a clearinghouse of advisors and information to help women in the Metropolitan Area explore all options related to changing their lives and asserting their rights. The was a strong presence of Lesbians among the volunteers of the WAWC. This collection contains newsletters, correspondence, posters, audio recordings, fliers, programs, meeting minutes, local organization files, reprints, photographs, and handwritten data related to the work performed at the Washington Area Women's Center.

These are the reporters notes for Washington Blade reporter Lou Chibbaro Jr. The subjects covered are extremely varied and reflect the interests of the Gay and Lesbian community in Washington DC for approximately a twenty-year time span. These subjects include AIDS, political action, legal battles, celebrities, military service, hate crimes, and religion.